Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Prof. Dr. Frank Breitling

Phone: +49 721 608-23859

frank breitlingSrf4∂kit edu




Peptide arrays and antibody libraries

Our research is segmented in two different research areas: (1) The combinatorial synthesis of high-density peptide arrays with the help of solid amino acid particles (in cooperation with DKFZ-department Chip based peptide libraries and our spin-off company PEPperPRINT) and (2) the generation of a library of >105 different human hybridomas (more) that should speed up considerably the generation of monoclonal antibodies (in cooperation with Dr. Gerhard Moldenhauer from DKFZ-department Translational Immunology).


High-density peptide arrays

Peptide arrays were invented by Dr. Ronald Frank [1] who was the first to parallelize the Nobel prize awarded solid phase peptide synthesis [2; Bruce Merrifield, Nobel prize for chemistry in 1984]. In doing so, he first dissolved the 20 different amino acid derivatives that are needed for peptide synthesis in a solvent, and then spotted these 20 different solutions to defined spots on an amino-terminated solid support. If repeated for several layers, this procedure builds up many different peptides in a combinatorial synthesis, each on a different spot (Fig. 1) (www.helmholtz-hzi.de/en/research/prevention_and_therapy/chemical_biology). One drawback of this “SPOT synthesis” method is the low achievable density of only ~25 peptides per cm2. This is due to the difficulties to deposit very small droplets on a solid support that tend to mix with neighbouring droplets or evaporate before the coupling reaction is finished.

In order to circumvent these technical difficulties, we developed a novel and prize awarded [3, 4] procedure, that first incorporates the amino acid derivatives in solid electrically chargeable “amino acid particles”. The different amino acid particles are then consecutively addressed to very small areas on a two dimensional support, either by a laser printer [5], or by the electrical fields of a computer chip’s pixel electrodes [6], where they keep sticking to the surface without intermingling with neighbouring particles. The coupling reaction is then induced simply by melting the whole particle layer, which frees hitherto immobilized amino acid derivatives to diffuse to and react with amino groups on the surface of the support. One technical advantage of the method is the very small spot specific “half domes” created by surface tension that wet very small and discrete areas on the solid support (Fig. 2; see also Fig. 4F in the section Chip printer). (more) Our procedure improves the state-of-the-art ~20-fold in terms of peptides per area and ~100-fold in terms of cost per peptide. A 2nd generation “peptide laser printer” (Fig. 3) is currently being developed within the EU FP7 project PEPLASER (more) by our cooperation partners Fraunhofer IPA and KMS Automation. In summer 2010 we expect this machine to improve the state-of-the-art to then >500.000 peptides per 20x20 cm2. Thereby, and for the first time, completely new applications for peptide arrays should be feasible (more) [7].

Alternatively, we can also use a CMOS chip’s array of pixel electrodes to address amino acid particles for a combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays. The development of this chip-based procedure is headed by PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller. Currently, this variant of our particle based synthesis method allows us to synthesize up to 40.000 peptides per cm2 [6 and Fig. 4]. In cooperation with the Institute for Printing Science Technology of the University of Darmstadt (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Edgar Dörsam) and the Kirchhoff Institute for Physics of the University of Heidelberg (Prof. Michael Hausmann) we currently develop a “chip printer” (more). Probably, this machine will be available in 2011 for routine synthesis of very high-density peptide arrays. The long term goal of this R & D is a procedure to synthesize in 2012 one Million of freely chosen peptides in good quality on a glass slide, and for a few Euros chemical costs. Thereby, and for the first time, completely new applications for peptide arrays should be feasible. (more)

Fig. 1; Shown is the addition of one further monomeric building block by combinatorial synthesis. A limited number of monomeric building blocks yields a plethora of different oligomers. The 4 nucleotide building blocks of DNA yield 4n different n-meric oligonucleotides. The 20 different amino acid monomers of proteins and peptides yield 20n different n-meric peptides. 


Fig. 2; Combinatorial synthesis of a peptide array with a laser printer


Fig. 3; Peptide laser printer with a pattern of amino acids that were printed and coupled to a glass support.


Fig. 4; Particle based combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays. A, E: charged amino acid particles are directed to individually chosen pixel electrodes B: spatially defined deposition of 20 different amino acid particles C, F: within melted amino acid particles Fmoc-amino acid OPfp esters diffuse to the surface of the solid support where they couple to free amino groups of the support F, G: consecutive coupling cycles yield a peptide array.


[1] Frank R. (1992) Spot synthesis: an easy technique for the positionally addressable, parallel chemical synthesis on a membrane support. Tetrahedron 48, 9217-9232.

[2] Felgenhauer T, Schirwitz C und Breitling F. (2010) Peptide synthesis. Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (Last updated: 29 Apr 2010) published online 10.1002/14356007.a19_157.pub2

[3] Stadler V, Bischoff FR, Felgenhauer T, Kring M und Breitling F. Winner of the business plan competition Science4Life (awarded with 30.000 €) with the project Fertigung und Vertrieb von Biochips zur Parallel-Synthese unterschiedlicher Peptide (Juni 2009).

[4] Breitling F, Bischoff FR, Stadler V, Felgenhauer T, Leibe K, Fernandez S (all from DKFZ or KIT) and Güttler S, Gröning M, Willems P, Biesinger B (Fraunhofer IPA). Winner of the „Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbande“ (awarded with 50.000 € ) with the project Peptide laser printer (May 2008).

[5] Stadler V, Felgenhauer T, Beyer M, Fernandez S, Leibe K, Güttler S, Gröning M, Torralba G, Lindenstruth V, Nesterov A, Block I, Pipkorn R, Poustka A, Bischoff FR und Breitling F. (2008) Combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays with a laser printer Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 47, 7132–7135.

[6] Beyer M, Nesterov A, Block I, König K, Felgenhauer T, Fernandez S, Leibe K, Torralba G, Hausmann M, Trunk U, Lindenstruth V, Bischoff FR, Stadler V und Breitling F. (2007) Combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays onto a computer chip’s surface. Science 318, 1888.

[7] Breitling F, Nesterov A, Stadler V, Felgenhauer T und Bischoff FR. (2010) High-density peptide arrays. Molecular BioSystems 5, 224-234. Epub 2009 Jan 16. Review

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Breitling
Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Frank Breitling
Bereichsleiter

Telefon: +49 721 608-23859

frank breitlingCtv2∂kit edu

mehr…

Mitarbeiter

mehr

Peptidarrays und Antikörperbibliotheken

Unsere Forschungsprojekte lassen sich in zwei Arbeitsbereiche aufteilen: (1) Die kombinatorische Synthese von hochdichten Peptidarrays mit Hilfe von Aminosäurenpartikeln (in Zusammenarbeit mit der DKFZ-Arbeitsgruppe Chipbasierte Peptidbibliotheken und unserer Ausgründung PEPperPRINT) und (2) die Herstellung einer Bibliothek von >105 verschiedenen menschlichen Hybridomen (mehr) mit der die Suche nach monoklonalen Antikörpern deutlich beschleunigt und vereinfacht werden soll (in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Gerhard Moldenhauer aus der DKFZ-Abteilung Translationale Immunologie).

Forschung

Hochdichte Peptidarrays

Peptidarrays wurden von Dr. Ronald Frank erfunden [1], indem er die mit dem Nobelpreis ausgezeichnete Festphasen gekoppelte Peptidsynthese [2; Bruce Merrifield, Nobelpreis für Chemie in 1984] parallelisiert hat. Dazu werden die 20 verschiedenen Aminosäurederivate in einem Lösungsmittel auf definierte Spots eines aminoterminierten Trägers aufgebracht und somit Schicht für Schicht viele Peptide in einer kombinatorischen Synthese (Abb. 1) nebeneinander aufgebaut (www.helmholtz-hzi.de/de/forschung/vorsorge_und_therapie/chemische_biologie). Ein Nachteil dieser „SPOT Synthese“ ist jedoch, dass damit bisher nur ~25 Peptide pro cm2 synthetisiert werden können. Dies liegt daran, dass kleine Flüssigkeitströpfchen sehr schwer zu dosieren sind, dass die benötigten viskosen Lösungsmittel an der Oberfläche entlang „kriechen“, und dass diese Tröpfchen während der Kopplungsreaktion längere Zeit nicht verdunsten dürfen.

Um diese technischen Schwierigkeiten zu umgehen, haben wir ein neues preisgekröntes [3, 4] Verfahren entwickelt, bei dem die Aminosäurederivate zunächst in festen elektrisch aufladbaren „Aminosäurepartikeln“ eingebettet werden. Diese Partikel werden anschließend entweder mit einem modifizierten Laserdrucker [5], oder durch die elektrischen Felder eines Computerchips [6] an sehr kleine Orte auf einer zweidimensionalen Oberfläche „versendet“. Nach dem ablagern der unterschiedlichen Partikelsorten wird schließlich die Kopplungsreaktion gestartet indem die ganze Partikellage einfach geschmolzen wird. Dies befreit die zuvor in der Festsubstanz immobilisierten Aminosäuren, sodass sie zu der Trägeroberfläche diffundieren können wo sie mit den dortigen Aminogruppen abreagieren (Abb. 2). Ein technischer Vorteil ist dabei, dass sich die geschmolzenen Partikel auf Grund der Oberflächenspannung zu sehr kleinen Halbkugeln zusammenziehen mit entsprechend kleinen Syntheseorten (siehe Abb. 4F, Chipdrucker) (mehr). Mit diesem Verfahren konnten wir den Stand der Technik bisher ~20-fach verbessern was die Zahl der Peptide pro Fläche betrifft und ~100-fach was die Kosten pro Peptid betrifft. Ein „Peptidlaserdrucker“ (Abb. 3) der zweiten Generation wird derzeit von unseren Kooperationspartnern Fraunhofer IPA und KMS Automation im Rahmen des EU FP7 Projektes PEPLASER (mehr) entwickelt. Mit dieser Maschine wollen wir bis Mitte 2010 den Stand der Technik auf dann >500.000 Peptide pro 20x20 cm2 verbessern. Damit werden vollkommen neue Anwendungen für Peptidarrays (mehr) erstmals möglich [7].

Alternativ zu einem Laserdrucker kann auch ein CMOS Chip mit einem Array von Pixelelektroden direkt unter der Oberfläche des Chips für die Adressierung der Aminosäurepartikel und die nachfolgende kombinatorische Peptidsynthese verwendet werden. Mit diesem Chip-basierten Verfahren, das federführend von PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller betreut wird konnten wir bisher 40.000 Peptide pro cm2 herstellen [6 und Abb. 4]. In Kooperation mit dem Institut für Druckmaschinen und Druckverfahren der Technischen Universität Darmstadt (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Edgar Dörsam) und dem Kirchhoff Institut für Physik der Universität Heidelberg (Prof. Michael Hausmann) entwickeln wir derzeit einen „Chipdrucker“ (mehr), der voraussichtlich ab 2011 für die routinemäßige Herstellung von sehr dichten Peptidarrays genutzt werden soll. Ziel dieser Entwicklungsarbeiten soll ein Verfahren sein, mit dem bis zum Jahr 2012 eine Million frei wählbare Peptide in guter Qualität für wenige Euro Chemikalienkosten auf einem Glasobjektträger synthetisiert werden können. Damit werden vollkommen neue Anwendungen für Peptidarrays (mehr) erstmals möglich.


Abb. 1; Dargestellt ist die Verlängerung von Oligomeren um einen weiteren Monomerbaustein durch kombinatorische Synthese. Mit wenigen unterschiedlichen Bauelementen kann eine sehr große Vielzahl von Oligomeren hergestellt werden. Die 4 Nukleotid-Bausteine der DNA ergeben für n-mere Türme 4n Möglichkeiten. Die 20 Aminosäure-Bausteine von Peptiden ergeben für n-mere Türme 20n Möglichkeiten.

 


Abb. 2; Kombinatorische Synthese eines Peptidarrays mit einem Laserdrucker.

 


Abb. 3; Peptidlaserdrucker mit einem Muster von an den Träger gekoppelten Aminosäuren.

 


Abb. 4; Partikelbasierte kombinatorische Synthese von Peptidarrays. A, E: geladene Aminosäure Partikel werden auf individuell wählbaren Pixelelektroden abgelagert B: 20 verschiedene Aminosäure Partikel sind ortsgenau abgelagert worden C, F: Geschmolzene Aminosäure Partikel ermöglichen es Fmoc-Aminosäure OPfp Estern zur Oberfläche des Trägers zu diffundieren und dort mit freien Aminogruppen des Trägers abzureagieren F, G: Wiederholte Kopplungszyklen ergeben die kombinatorische Synthese eines Peptidarrays.

 

[1] Frank R. (1992) Spot synthesis: an easy technique for the positionally addressable, parallel chemical synthesis on a membrane support. Tetrahedron 48, 9217-9232.

[2] Felgenhauer T, Schirwitz C und Breitling F. (2010) Peptide synthesis. Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (Last updated: 29 Apr 2010) published online 10.1002/14356007.a19_157.pub2

[3] Stadler V, Bischoff FR, Felgenhauer T, Kring M und Breitling F. Gewinn des mit 30.000 € dotierten 1. Platz im bundesweiten Businessplan-Wettbewerb „Science4Life“ mit dem Projekt Fertigung und Vertrieb von Biochips zur Parallel-Synthese unterschiedlicher Peptide (Juni 2009).

[4] Breitling F, Bischoff FR, Stadler V, Felgenhauer T, Leibe K, Fernandez S (alle DKFZ bzw. KIT) und Güttler S, Gröning M, Willems P, Biesinger B (Fraunhofer IPA). Gewinn des mit 50.000 € dotierten Wissenschaftspreises des Stifterverbandes mit dem Projekt Peptid-Laserdrucker (Mai 2008).

[5] Stadler V, Felgenhauer T, Beyer M, Fernandez S, Leibe K, Güttler S, Gröning M, Torralba G, Lindenstruth V, Nesterov A, Block I, Pipkorn R, Poustka A, Bischoff FR und Breitling F. (2008) Combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays with a laser printer Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 47, 7132–7135.

[6] Beyer M, Nesterov A, Block I, König K, Felgenhauer T, Fernandez S, Leibe K, Torralba G, Hausmann M, Trunk U, Lindenstruth V, Bischoff FR, Stadler V und Breitling F. (2007) Combinatorial synthesis of peptide arrays onto a computer chip’s surface. Science 318, 1888.

[7] Breitling F, Nesterov A, Stadler V, Felgenhauer T und Bischoff FR. (2010) High-density peptide arrays. Molecular BioSystems 5, 224-234. Epub 2009 Jan 16. Review